Physics 470/570 -- Electricity and Magnetism II -- Fall 2013

Class meetings: M,W,F 10:00-10:50, 227 La Tourette (formerly Faraday West)

Textbook: "Introduction to Electrodynamics", D.J. Griffiths, 3rd edition, Prentice Hall

Instructor: Professor S. Martin
Office: 214 La Tourette (formerly Faraday West)
Phone: (815) 753-6467
email: spmartin@niu.edu
Office hours: Tuesday and Thursday 9:30 to 11:30 (or whenever you can find me).

Catalog Description: Maxwell's equations; propagation, reflection and transmission of electromagnetic waves; wave guides; dipole radiation; radiation by point charges; electrodynamics in special relativity. PRQ: PHYS 300 and PHYS 370, or consent of department.

Syllabus available here.

Grading: Weighted according to 45% Homework, 20% Midterm, 35% Final. You MUST score at least 50% on the homework in order to pass this course. See the syllabus for more information.

Homework Late Policy: Homework grades will be reduced by 10% for each day after the due date, up to 5 days late. After 5 days, 100% off. I prefer homeworks to be turned in at the end of class, but they are considered on time if received by 5:00 PM on the due date.

Midterm Exam: Friday October 25, 2013, 10:00-10:59 AM

Final Exam: Monday December 9, 2013, 10:00-11:59 AM

Exams will be closed book, but you may bring two pages of notes in your own original handwriting, and you will be provided with a formula sheet for coordinate systems and vector derivatives, as here.


Homework #1 assignment (due Wednesday, September 4, 2013)

Homework #2 assignment (due Wednesday, September 11, 2013)

Homework #3 assignment (due Wednesday, September 18, 2013)

Homework #4 assignment (due Wednesday, September 25, 2013)

Homework #5 assignment (due Wednesday, October 2, 2013)

Homework #6 assignment (due Friday, October 11, 2013)

Homework #7 assignment (due Monday, October 21, 2013)

Information for midterm exam (on Friday, October 25, 2013)

Homework #8 assignment (due Wednesday November 6, 2013)

Homework #9 assignment (due Friday November 15, 2013)

Homework #10 assignment (due Monday November 25, 2013)

Homework #11 assignment (due Friday December 6, 2013)

Information for final exam (on Monday, December 9, 2013)