Physics 661 -- Quantum Mechanics II -- Spring 2009

Class meetings: 12:30-1:45 on Monday and Wednesday, Faraday West 227.

Instructor: Professor S. Martin
Office: Faraday West 214
Phone: (815) 753-6467
email: picture
Office hours: M,T,W 10:00 to 11:30 (or whenever you can find me).

Required Textbook: "Modern Quantum Mechanics" by J.J. Sakurai

Recommended Textbooks: "Lectures on Quantum Mechanics" by Gordon Baym and "Principles of Quantum Mechanics" by R. Shankar

Grading: weighted according to 40% Homework, 25% Midterm, 35% Final.

Midterm Exam: 12:30-1:45, Wednesday, March 4, 2009.

Final Exam: 12:00-2:00, Monday, May 4, 2009.

Catalog Description: Identical particles, exclusion principle and exchange effects; interaction of electromagnetic radiation with matter; introduction to scattering theory, partial wave analysis, and Born approximation; simple many-body theory in the Hartree-Fock framework. PRQ: PHYS 660 or consent of department.

Syllabus


Lecture notes 1-11

Lecture notes 12-18

Lecture notes 19-27

Lecture notes 28-35

Lecture notes 36-50

Lecture notes 51-56

Lecture notes 57-68

Lecture notes 69-71

Lecture notes 72-77

Lecture notes 78-84

Lecture notes 85-91

Lecture notes 92-101

Lecture notes 102-112

Lecture notes 113-122

Lecture notes 123-126

Corrections to lectures and homework problems so far. (Last updated May 1, 2009.)

Homework #1 (due Wed., Jan. 21)

Homework #2 (due Wed., Jan. 28)

Homework #3 (due Wed., Feb. 4)

Homework #4 (due Wed., Feb. 11)

Homework #5 (due Wed., Feb. 25)

Rules for midterm exam. (to be held on Wed., March 5, 2009)

Homework #6 (due Wed., March 25)

Homework #7 (due Mon., April 6)

Homework #8 (due Mon., April 13)

Homework #9 (due Wed., April 22)

Homework #10 (due Wed., April 29)

Rules for final exam. (to be held 12:00 -- 2:00, Monday, May 4, 2009)